All I want for Christmas…

Yes, it’s the (possibly) welcome return of Neil’s annual address to a largely disinterested nation – and beyond. All I want for Christmas this year is…

…anything that would be an improvement on the festive sights I’ve seen this year so far, including a man dressed as Santa pissing in an alleyway and a dog eating vomit from the pavement outside a pub. Yes, nothing says Christmas like getting hammered and hurling in public – except maybe family arguments or suicide; ‘tis the season, apparently. If you’re going to do it at least be festive and hang yourself with fairy lights.

Oh, come on, it wouldn’t be me if I didn’t spread a little ‘bah humbug’…

Actually, getting to the point, I’ve already got everything that I want for Christmas, so I’m going to look back slightly to the fine American tradition of thanksgiving and count some blessings.

First and foremost, whilst I may be less than minted in the coin of the realm, I’m rich beyond my wildest dreams in friends, so for the wonderful people who fill my life with love, laughter and music; the people who look after me when the slings and arrows of fortune are more outrageous than normal; who nourish me in mind, body and spirit, both here at home and scattered across the globe, I thank you for being not just a big part of my life but the best part of my life.

Couchsurfing has been good to me again, bringing new people into my life. Some of them have become firm friends, some have changed the trajectory of my life; all have been great to meet. If you’ve not been a part of the movement, check it out. Some of the best things that have happened to me in the last few years have, directly or indirectly, come about through Couchsurfing.

So to all of you, too many to mention my name, I wish you a peaceful Christmas full of fun and laughter and a New Year in which every single day brings you something good. Love and best wishes one and all.

Neil out.

Leave a Reply

